Fitness, Motivation
Comment 1

Inspiring others

I never thought I’d be a mentor or role model for anyone, in any sense of the word. It had been a long time since I’d striven toward everything, and I’m the type of person that keeps my ambitions private. I don’t like being accountable for myself or my desires because someone might call me out.

The past few years of my life I’ve made great strides. I’ve taken ownership of my actions and failures, successes and dreams. I’ve created this blog, talked about my struggles and triumphs with friends (and strangers). And slowly, but surely, I’ve become exactly who I want to be.

Today a good friend asked me for help. She told me she joined a gym, and that she hasn’t been going more than one day a week. She knows she can do more, and was wondering if (since she has a lack of support at home) I would text her periodically to help keep her accountable and on track. She said she knew I was busy but that she knew she could rely on me. Mind you, as I’m reading her text, states away, I’m on a treadmill and almost burst into tears. Someone relies on me, because I’m worthy of that. I can’t begin to explain how this touched my heart. I’ve worked so hard and the fact that I inspire anyone, at all, is such a huge blessing to myself and whoever I help.

She told me that she promised to go at least 3 days a week (to start) for at least 45 minutes. This is a woman who really needs it too. She’s a great individual, but now over forty she really needs to get her health in check so that she can be present and available for her daughters and soon, grandchildren. I of course told her yes and how proud I was that she was making this commitment to me and to herself.

Having a friend to share with and help hold you accountable while losing weight is imperative. Even if you like working out alone (as I do) it’s important to have someone that you can share your stories with. I’m so glad I can do this for her, and I’m just so touched that she asked.

1 Comment

Leave a comment